It Was a Very Good Year (female version circa 2012)

When I was seventeen

It was a very good year

It was a very good year for a loving beau

Handsome and strong

We could do no wrong

In a car painted green

When I was seventeen.

 

When I was twenty one

It was a very good year

It was a very good year for college loves to hold close

Without any fear

And our futures unclear

Vietnam and the war was done

When I was twenty one.

 

When I was thirty-five

It was a very good year

It was a very good year

For music in bars and friends who cared

In a world we all shared

We were all still alive

When I was thirty-five.

 

But now the days grow short

I’m in the autumn of the year

And now I think of my life as vintage wine

From fine old kegs

From the brim to the dregs

And it poured sweet and clear

It was a very good year.

 

The original song was composed by Ervin Drake in 1961 and Frank Sinatra sung it on his album “September of My Years” released in 1965.  Mr. Sinatra was just about 50 years old at the time.   Link to a 1977 live rendition on YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GVkuz_qD2uo

Leave a Reply

