Poem in Your Pocket Day — Thursday, April 26, 2012

        It sounds a bit corny perhaps, this idea of finding a poem, printing it or writing it up, putting it in your pocket and then carrying it around with you all day.  When I first heard of it two years ago, I thought it was just a one time occurrence.  Recently found out this is an annual event every April during National Poetry Month.

I did write about this event in an earlier blog here as I happened to feature the Walt Whitman poem that I’d chosen as my pocket poem two years ago.  For people who would like to commemorate this day and participate in their own way, there is a web page at: http://www.poets.org/page.php/prmID/406 that discusses Poem in Your Pocket Day and provides 61 sample poems to choose from.  These poems can be found by selecting the poem subject links provided.  For people who are more familiar with poetry, these 61 sample poems are also listed alphabetically by the poet’s name and his/her featured poem.

So if you’d like to feel close to poetry (literally), carrying around a poem in your pocket is one way to do so.  I like the idea of choosing a poem that you like and reading it throughout the day or maybe just one of two times, there are no rules with this.

After completing this blog I think i’m going to randomly select one of the 61 poems provided on the web page http://www.poets.org/page.php/prmID/409 by just pointing to one of the poems listed by subject (with my eyes closed) and see what poem manifests itself.   This way I won’t be limiting the poem selection to my own biases (for example, the poem is too long; it’s too brief; it’s about war; it’s about antiquity and I don’t understand what is referred to, etc. etc).   Here goes…

Leave a Reply

